Does this indicate an serious issue? MTS3200

JustinCorrigible

I have had an MTS3200 combo for 15+ years (and unused for the majority of those), I figured I’d remove the chassis and explore what’s inside, and maybe there is something I can learn along the way. I noticed something that didn’t look right.
IMG_8470.jpeg

I am less than a total beginner in this realm, but it looks like there’s been some overheating at those resistors between V2 and V3. What would be telltale signs to tell of a problem there if I hadn’t opened this up? I’ve never experienced any issues that I could ever tell (other than underwhelming gain that took me to the V3 model). I plugged it in last week to test it thinking I could maybe sell it, and it sounded as expected.

Attachments

• MTS3200-REV-E.pdf
    110.6 KB · Views: 30
Last edited:
I would definitely check those components out with a MM ...

I can't zoom in on the schematic you're showing to see what they are doing / attached to

you could simply replace them ... but the question is ... do they look like that just from getting hot over the last 15 years .... or is something somewhere else causing them to heat up like that ..... it looks like a failure of some sort to me ....

I would definitely check those components out with a MM ...

I can't zoom in on the schematic you're showing to see what they are doing / attached to

you could simply replace them ... but the question is ... do they look like that just from getting hot over the last 15 years .... or is something somewhere else causing them to heat up like that ..... it looks like a failure of some sort to me ....
Ah, that schematic is kinda low res I see now… sorry. I would not expect them to get that hot, I mean I’ve barely ever played it in the last 15 years and certainly not a high volumes — cannot say from previous owner before me as this was 2008 when I picked it up.