If you had to play in front of 20k people right now...

Would you be able to do it?

• Total voters
I've heard several famous musicians say that playing for a huge crowd is actually less intimidating because you don't even notice individual people. It's just a massive sea of humanity. YMMV

I've heard several famous musicians say that playing for a huge crowd is actually less intimidating because you don't even notice individual people. It's just a massive sea of humanity. YMMV
In my experience, big crowds are pretty easy to play for. The largest I've played for was maybe 1,000.

It's much harder to play for smaller or no crowds. I've learned a few tricks to attempt to make those fun, but that was a skill that took quite a few years of work.

Most I've played for was about 4k in Biloxi, MS of all places.

It's harder to play for a small group....

But, I've been generally fearless playing anywhere. I was a visiting professor, the hardest lecture I gave was to a group of about 12 PHD's. Now that is intimidating and bowel stimulating....lol...

I have to say that I have always felt much more relaxed on stage in front of 1000-3000 people than in club shows in front of typically 100-300 people. At big concerts, people had more fun and "cooperated" with us, at club concerts they watched the performance more. Since there used to be many musicians from other bands in the club audience, with whom we mostly knew each other, then I usually heard reports about myself, how I can't play and sing :D . It's true that my sloppy playing never really bothered me, so they were probably right :rock:.

Right now?

I'd have them pipe the recorded guitar tracks through the PA and do my best guitar miming

I'm going with number 3.
When i was in a band in my late 20's, i was married, 30 or 40 pounds heavier, and a sloppy drunk. i relied on my natural talent as a guitar player, and my youth for energy.