Stainless Frets VS. Nickel (Sustain Difference) ?

robertkoa

I'm talking about how with good finger vibrato and nickel you can have a note sustain all day ( John Suhr once told me you are " shaving the fret" when you do this with nickel frets).

So since there is less friction with stainless - will I lose the sustain from the string rubbing on the frets?

But I've not yet played a really good guitar with stainless, and my question is on those phrase endings ( and where you need it) can you still get a note to "ring" from just finger vibrato with stainless ( the string rubbing against the fret from finger vibrato) ?

Guys who have BOTH types can let me know on this, theoretical discussions probably won't help.

Thanks.

Although I have no experience with SS frets yet (getting some on my MX-2 in a week or two though) speaking in terms of science steel is a harder metal so it is going to absorb far less vibration then nickel, meaning it will naturally have more sustain than nickel. As to how much better depends on the steel.

John is right too, just think about why you get divets in nickel frets and need a leveling? That soft metal can only take so much.

I have both. I never really notice a sustain difference, but I have to say the SS feel great. I am going to check this out tomorrow.

robertkoa":f4u3i596 said:
I'm talking about how with good finger vibrato and nickel you can have a note sustain all day ( John Suhr once told me you are " shaving the fret" when you do this with nickel frets).

So since there is less friction with stainless - will I lose the sustain from the string rubbing on the frets?

But I've not yet played a really good guitar with stainless, and my question is on those phrase endings ( and where you need it) can you still get a note to "ring" from just finger vibrato with stainless ( the string rubbing against the fret from finger vibrato) ?

Guys who have BOTH types can let me know on this, theoretical discussions probably won't help.

Thanks.