Trouble moving up and down the neck.

mboogman

Hey guys. I don't normally come in this section and post. But I'm feeling like I'm at the end of one of my spurts of ability. Over the past couple of years, I've been working on my speed moving across the fretboard, but I'm still missing being able to move up and down with any real proficiency. Sure, I can walk scales up and down, and move, but making jumps from one section of the neck to another, or really doing ascending or descending licks on a single (or two) string is proving to be more of a challenge. Anyone have any good exercises to share that help with this proficiency? Maybe look at some older Yngwie Em licks? :confused: Any ideas would be appreciated.

BTW, I've been playing for 20+ years, so I'm a little past the "basics." I would consider myself very capable, but I'm always looking to add more to my bag of tricks. :thumbsup:

another good thing to do is study a different style. Country for example will open up your eyes to so many different positions, scale shapes, chromatic passing tones, etc. that really work well for getting from point A to point B or C,D,E, etc. etc. :) I incorporate so much of my country playing into my rock or blues playing and all the sudden note choices, runs, open strings, etc. are all at my disposal and I feel like I'm playing fresh ideas and opening new doors. Here's a clip of some noodling but using quite a bit of "Country" ideas in a rock format.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIiVnw_s ... re=related

I find moving up and down the neck far easier than moving across the board. I've been practicing and getting better but having played for almost 20 years (damn) I should have no issues.