Blown fuse

barryswanson

So I switched on my brand new VH4 and the mains fuse blew. I checked it over for any obvious faults and replaced the main fuse. Played it for an hour an all channels with no problems checked power tube fault lights and none where lit. What would cause that? I am an electrician by trade and I understand a short or excess current draw would blow the fuse but amps are not something I work on. I’d like to note that my amp is a 230v model and our nominal wall outlet voltage is 240v in Australia but can vary from anything between 230-250v depending time of day etc. Would it be wise to swap a couple of the transformer wires around to the 240v spec as per the service manual, or leave it as it is?

Well, I'll let someone with more direct VH4 experience than I answer, but I'll take a preliminary stab.

With the blown fuse, I'd guess that if it was the first time you'd turned the amp on, maybe the inrush of current to the filter caps combined with the higher than expected voltage might've caused the fuse to blow. If you haven't had any more problems with blowing fuses, and assuming that you replaced the blown fuse with the exact rating for voltage and current (since you're an electrician, I'm sure you did), I wouldn't worry about it.

As for changing the transformer to the 240v winding, yes, I would do that if it were mine. Since you're local voltage is 240v, leaving the amp set to 230v is going to subject all its parts to an additional 5% higher voltage, closer to 9% if the local supply goes up to 250v. That's putting extra wear on all the parts. Best case is that you wear out your tubes faster, but you'll also be more likely to blow capacitors, resistors, relays, logic ICs, and even risk the transformers and especially the tubes.