NAD_Uberschall Rev Blue

MetalHeadMike

I have wanted to play an Uber for far too many years, so I picked one up and have to say these things are insane.

jFBPjNll.jpg

I've been gassing for an Uber since about 2007 and can't believe it took this long for me to finally give one a shot. I have to admit upon first plugging in when it arrived I was a bit underwhelmed. Part of it was probably that I had built it up for so long in my head that expectations were just set too high, but the bulk of why it was somewhat underwhelming was due to the tubes that were in it I believe. JJEL34 and all JJ preamps except for the Sovtek LPS in the last slot.

I've never noticed major tone changes in most my previous amps when swapping tubes be they power or preamp tubes. I was all set to give up on the Uber and move it on down the road, but something in me said to give it a shot with this amp. I'm really glad I did, because after popping in some JJ KT77 power tubes and a bunch of Chinese 12ax7B preamp tubes it's more or less everything I thought the Uber would be. It sounded like a fairly generic metal tone before swapping tubes and did not have near enough attack nor clarity for me, and now it has more of a unique character I think, and it's tighter and more articulate for sure. I'm happy :D

I was in contact with several buds on here and the cool dude who sold me the amp, and they all made some great eq suggestions urging me to spend some time with the amp given its reputation for having such a strange eq response. I think I had that aspect dialed in and while the eq is fairly unconventional, I think the tube change is what yielded most of the desired tone change.