boosting amps

i'm fairly new to the high gain amp world, yet to get my first one (hoping for an slo soon), so bare with me if this is a stupid question...

when people talk about "boosting" their amps (boosted marshall, for example), what exactly does that entail?

i had a buddy over recently who told me it could be as simple as just running a tube screamer with gain all the way down, level all the way up and tone set to taste... he said it does a good job tightening the amp up at high volumes. but i always thought "boosting" meant adding gain or volume somehow.

is this tube screamer method pretty standard when it comes to boosting? and is boosting actually more about tightening a sound up rather than gaining it up?

While everyone's different and utilizes boosts in there own way, your last sentence sums up the essence of boosting in relation to high gain amps.

I boost with a Tube screamer with drive@ 0 to 9 o 'clock depending on the amp and level at 9 o' clock. Just tightens the low end and adds attack. Many scoff at using a pedal out front of a high dollar tube amp and that's their prerogative, however I'm shameless I guess and use whatever tools it takes to get the tone/feel I'm after regardless of the amp.

Boosting does get you more gain/distortion, but mostly from the amp. When you turn the gain of the pedal down and the volume up, the pedal mostly acts as a big volume boost. That higher volume hits the front end of the amplifier hard, which causes it to have more gain/distortion.

Going to high output pickups over vintage output pickups is a step in the same direction. Those higher output pickups don't produce any distortion, but they do push the front end of the amplifier harder, which causes more distortion. In fact EMGs (and other high active pickups) have even more output, which primarily acts to hit the amp really hard causing more distortion.