Painted Recto diamond plate?

D-Rock

Anyone done this? What kind of paint?
I'm considering buying a Single Rec. and painting the diamond plate black.

Some of the plates I see are more matte, but the blackface dual revision F that I had last year was glossy.

recto_full_top-1.jpg

rectobros.jpg

The Blackface Triple I have is sort of a Satin type finish. Somewhat shiny, but mostly matte.

I have heard about people getting their Chrome plates powder coated.

Thosse blackface/Silver pannel Rectos look KILLER! I remember hearing the older ones came like that, is that right?

I'd like to see a XXX with the treadplate, probably my least favourite thing about the XXXs is the aesthetics.

As for paint type, I'd go for a car paint, itll be thin and won't leave it completely matte, I have no experience with car paints/painting but I know there's a huge variety. I'm sure you can find thicker varieties of spray on paint that's more matte.

I assume you're buying a used Single Rec, otherwide you could order one custom with the black diamond. Another option is to carefully remove the old diamond plate which is secured with double sided tape. I hear you need to use a heat gun to melt the adhesive, but be careful as to not melt the Tolex. You can order a black plate from Mesa, supposedly for $100.

I was going to say get it powder coated but if mesa will sell you a black plate for $100 thats probably your best option

Thanks guys, I was considering getting it done by a local autobody shop. Might consider a special order from Mesa if it comes down to it.

Scuff it up with a scotch brite pad and hit it with some satin black Krylon. Put the other $290 in your pocket.

BoneSaw":3ak06mqv said:
Scuff it up with a scotch brite pad and hit it with some satin black Krylon. Put the other $290 in your pocket.
Meh, I've seen that done and that's exactly what it turns out looking like :no:

HMJ":35l2urgw said:
Filter500":35l2urgw said: