Bogner alchemist problem (and solution)

alexsm11

Hi Everybody,

Kinda new in this forum.

This is a follow-up for this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=53538

Well, apparently I’ve found the solution to the problem that at least one more person (dgaemc2) and I have experienced.

The problem was this: When the amp is switched to standby, the footswitch and power tubes turn on, but none of the amp’s front panel indicators light up, neither the preamp tubes. When the amp is turned on, either in 20W or 40W mode, the power tubes turn blue, as expected but no sound at all out of the speaker.

So, after checking fuses, power and preamp tubes and everything that Line6 online support recommended, the amp was still broken. It was not cost-effective to me send my amp for repairs due to shipping costs, besides at the nearest L6 service center couldn’t give me even an estimate for the repair.

After all this, and considering that I have some experience with electronics, I ventured in trying to identify the problem myself. I’ll try to cover every detail of the process.

After I had extracted the amp from the cabinet, I tried to measure some voltages using my multimeter, but the test leads of the multimeter were too thick, so, I sharpened them so they can get into the connectors without disconnect them. I show this in the pics below:

With the amp in 40w mode, the first reading I took was the voltage at the 12ax7 plates, which was solid at 400vdc.

The power supply for the preamp section basically consists of two different voltage levels: +-3.5 vdc and +-18 vdc. So, the next readings I took were those (in standby mode). The +-18vdc level was ok, BUT instead of having +-3.5vdc, the voltage was fluctuating at 1.4-1.6 vdc. And this +-3.5 vdc power supply turned out to be feeding the heater of the preamp tubes!!! So, THERE WAS A PROBLEM.