Diatonic scales/modes... the "Key to the Kingdom"...

Red_Label

At the suggestion of another Rig-Talker, I'm reposting this here in case anyone might benefit from it. Feel free to ask questions or point-out issues if you see them. I've been playing for 28+ years... but I certainly still learn something new from time to time.

Many years ago I whipped up this sheet for my students (when I used to teach that is) and implored them to memorize this "modal master pattern". It works for everything short of whole tone, diminished, harmonic minor, etc "exotic" scales.

As you can see, I broke the full pattern down into 3-note diatonic scale boxes to make it easy to digest one at a time. But once you've got them all well memorized, you can see the entire fretboard as one pattern (like it would look if you were playing one of those fret light guitars) and that really frees you up in your ability to improvise over any mode, in any key. All you have to do to adjust for key changes is to slide the entire pattern up or down the fretboard. So for instance, if you want to play in A major/Ionian instead of G... just move this entire pattern up (right) two frets. You can also see the relative modes -- so G major/Ionian is the SAME notes as E minor/Aeolian... etc. It may look like a lot to digest just looking at it, but it really is the "key to the kingdom" when wanting to no longer feel lost always knowing the right notes to play when shredding. You can also take the pattern of course and identify root notes for each mode and such in order to phrase better.