Taking the Leap: Changing Caps In My DSL

dfrattaroli

Before I start I want to point out that I've never worked on amps before. I'm a pretty "handy" guy and have built a solid body electric from scratch that I've been playing every day for 11 years now. I also do carpentry as a hobby and household electrical work as well. But amps always scared me. I spent a good deal of time researching things like discharging caps as well as working on this amp in particular. Before today, my DSL chassis had been laying on my bench for 2 weeks fully discharged with my bleeder wire attached at all times. I would walk in and read my meter just for the hell of it. I even switched the amp on and watched the meter just to see the bleeder wire work, speeding up the bleeder circuit already in the amp. My point is, I take nothing for granted.

Now, before I touched the filter caps, I got my feet wet by doing some simple and commond mods for the DSL: pulling C12, replacing C46 with a 1kV cap and doing the speaker jack mod from under the board.

Last night I decided to pull the 330uF 315v caps and replace them. Below are pics of the place where the old caps used to live. I also learned first hand, when desoldering, add more solder. :)

Below the board...
20160620_215651.jpg

On top...
20160620_215739.jpg

Now here are the new Nichicon caps. These are larger in diameter than the stock Samwha caps that came with the amp 16 years ago. I put one in as low as I could and then got the next one in as low as I could without putting too much pressure on the leads. The original caps were snap-in style. I used a zip-tie just to hold the orientation before soldering in the 2nd cap.

20160620_221140.jpg

20160620_221259.jpg

And from below...

20160620_221218.jpg

20160620_221149.jpg

Going to continue with the rest of the caps today. My choke gets here on Thursday.

Thanks!
Dave

Now, before I touched the filter caps, I got my feet wet...