Rest In Peace, Les!

Len Rabinowitz

You guys all must have heard that Les Paul died today. 94 years old from pneumonia.

I saw him at the Iridium Jazz Cafe in Manhattan a few years back Great show- lots of people bringing their LP's to be signed

I hope NONE of them show up on e-Bay for a million dollars now! Yeah sure...

Gotta play out tonight. Was gonna bring the Strat, but nope- The LP is comin'...

Maybe we could tell some stories about our favorite Les Pauls? How they sound through the Egnaters?

I LOVE my sunburst. I had a 3 pickup black beauty that I played through a Marshall half stack in the 70's. Man do I wish I still had that rig!

Here's to ya, Les!

:cry: :cry:

R.I.P. Les I have the LPs just sitting there (playing them too of course) just remembering where they came from!!!The man will live fore ever for sure :rock:

I was talking to the audience last night a little about Les Paul. I am a history teacher, and I have become convinced that the invention of the solid body electric guitar and multi track recording were two of the seminal- and somewhat unheralded by the general publc- inventions of the 20th century. They had impacts far beyone music- cultural, economic, and political as well.

I don't think Les Paul actually was the first to make a solidbody. Do we know for sure who it was? It had to be either him, Leo Fender, Adolph Rickenbacker, maybe Paul Bigsby. Anybody know any sources on that?

The sound of that sunbusrt through the Tourmaster was just ungodly. I love when you crank it up and let that sustain and feedback ring. I was trying to play some things by famous Les Paul players and show off its unique qualities. Of course, some of the tones we love about it were not what he had in mind, but he wasi nfavor of innovation- I'm pretty sure he was OK with what the younger players started doing with his invention.