Any Comments on the Marshall 1936 2x12 cabinet?

Drew

Whenever I see posts on guitar gear forums regarding Marshall 1936 2x12 cabs, the reviews and comments on it are almost always negative and that there are much better 2x12 cabs out there.

I've been using a 1936 cab for the last 4+ years and to me, it sounds OK. My one complaint is that in certain spots on stage it does sound a bit harsh.

After reading so many negative comments on my cab, I'm curious as to what might be a better option. However, I'm hesitant to go to the expense of buying and trying several other cabs to compare.

One thing I always hear is that the Marshall 2x12 cabs from the 80's sound better than recent ones (mine was made in 2000)--pre MDF wood backs etc. I don't agree with that comment now. I have a friend who has an 80's Marshall 2x12 and we ran our two cabs with a few of his Marshalls and neither of us could really tell any major difference between the cabs. Both cabs have Celestion 75's.

About two years ago I did a few things that improved my cab. The first was removing the Marshall DSL50 sitting on top of it and I replaced it with a Cameron modded 1977 100 watt Marshall... The second thing I did was to install "beam blockers". The 3rd thing I did was to rewire the cab with high quality wire and remove the stereo wiring jack--so now it's a single 8ohm cab with no stereo option.

So any comments on the 1936? Would I see some benefit by trying some different speakers? If so, which ones--Vintage 30's, Celestion 65's or something else?

I believe Bogner and CAE puts some fabric "batting" inside their cabs. Anybody have any comments on the sound implications of that?

Or should I blindly dump the Marshall cab in favor of a Bogner 2x12 (or CAE or Avatar or Tone Tools or Stone Age or Ear Candy)?

Thanks for any comments.

I have a marshall 1936 copy and I run Celestion Classic Lead 80's in there, its a very nice sounding cab.