Anyone gig using preamp, pedal, or modeller into an effects loop only for tones?

• Thread starter Thread starter romanianreaper
  • Start date Start date
romanianreaper
romanianreaper
I'm new to this idea of using an amp's effect loop return to skip the preamp, after 40 years of playing. I was curious if anyone gigs or plays with this setup and why that works better than just using the preamp tones in the amp you are plugged into for the tones?

I don't gig anymore, but using a separate preamp into the return of your amp (bypassing the amp's preamp) let's you have different sounds than your amp. that's about it. Not too different from old rack gear with separate power and preamps...I used to run my Marshall JMP-1 and JFX-1 into my ADA B200S power amp because matching Marshall monobloc power amps were big, heavy and expensive. I ran my TriAxis preamp into my Engl E850/100 power amp, etc.

using a digital modeler for preamp only would work the same way into an amps power amp

I don't gig anymore, but using a separate preamp into the return of your amp (bypassing the amp's preamp) let's you have different sounds than your amp. that's about it. Not too different from old rack gear with separate power and preamps...I used to run my Marshall JMP-1 and JFX-1 into my ADA B200S power amp because matching Marshall monobloc power amps were big, heavy and expensive. I ran my TriAxis preamp into my Engl E850/100 power amp, etc.

using a digital modeler for preamp only would work the same way into an amps power amp
It is crazy that I'm just now doing this, lol.

The Super Crush 100 sounds great but even better with the Friedman IR-X and I imagine modellers would sound killer too.

Reactions: rsm
Guy I do guitar work for always brings a Synergy Syn1 with whatever module he considers his favorite at the time with him to gigs ....because most of the time he's doing multiple band shows and they always share the " house " amp .... so he just plugs in his SYn1 into the loop ...