NAD! Mesa Boogie Mark III HRG

Emg77

I had this combo pop up on the local CL. It's not like I needed another amp but I've come full circle back to Mesa Boogie. To my surprise it is a no stripe / black dot with the 105 transformer. I'm really digging it! Maybe even more so than my Mark IV. It's got more bite and feels really good to play!

It came loaded with JJ'S. I'm going to do some tube swapping. Any suggestions on preamps? He also sent along a qaud of Jan Phillips 6l6's.
2B0D271D-DAFC-42E3-ABD9-40DDC84B0CA0.jpeg

Ha - that's pretty sweet. Can we assume you didn't have to pay 'pre-Gibson' prices :LOL:

I have no experience with this amp but as soon as you said 'any suggestions....' I was thinking JAN Phillips 5751 to rotate around would be cool. Didn't even realize Phillips made a 6L6. Anyway - have fun :cheers:

Sent that to Mike B for a ++ mod. It will be so close to a 2C++.
He’s right. I’ve got a Red Stripe ++ and a IIC++, and they’re pretty damn close. The III is a bit more compressed, and actually a little more aggressive, and the feel is very similar. You’ve got the 105, so it’d be even closer yet. Unless of course you dig it stock, and that’s cool too. Either way, congrats, great score.

What exactly does the ++ mod accomplish?
It gives it a little more grease, and a little boost. Fattens it up a little. It’s subtle, yet awesome. I usually back the gain off “1” when I go ++. Mike can put it on the middle knob as a push/pull to switch it on and off. I love it, it kills.

MK3 >>>> MK4
This x1000
Mark III's are imo by far the best amps you can get for the price or at least they were (not sure what their current going rate is)
Also just great amps regardless of price

The 50 Calibers are also an amazing value (I've had 2 in the past that I paid $400 each for). Not as good as the III's overall, but warmer, prettier cleans imo and maybe the best reverb I've heard in any Boogie. The Reverb on the Mark II's and III's are terrible

Last edited:
This x1000