Which JCM-800 to get for early Slayer tone???

BOOGIE444

I am a total noob to JCM-800's, I have played one once and I dont remeber which version it was but I do know it kicked my old TSL-100 in the ground.

I am looking for a ole' school slayer sound like seasons in the abyss, reign in blood, south of heaven type of stuff. Which version of the JCM-800 should I get, I dont know which is which when it comes to the different versions 2203, 2204, 2210, none of that stuff means anything to me. I usually focus all my attention to modern hi-gain amps, I dont really know anything about these.

I dont want to have it modded or anything, I just want to use my LP w/ EMG-85 with it and a boost pedal thats it. What do these things usually go for on ebay $800???

2203 is what Slayer have been playing since the beginning.

BTW I have a 2203 and a TSL 100. Those tones are in the TSL...you just have to tweak it to get it.

sub

JVM would probably get you there better than a 2203, though that is what they used with all sorts of EQ and boost. I'd get a JVM.

:|::QBB:
jaybird":eebd4 said:
JVM would probably get you there better than a 2203, though that is what they used with all sorts of EQ and boost. I'd get a JVM.

They just use a 2203 w/ 4x12 GT75 cabs, slammed w/ an MXR 10 band EQ and EMGs.

KK used a JCM800 2203 with KT88s, with an EQ as booster and a Hush. The EQ is not used to shape the amplifier sound but to boost its input; overall tone is 2203. Right now he only plays his signature 2203KK which should be available in the shops later on this year.

A JVM can get close but still the 2203KK has a different overall tone and less gain.

I dont have money for a JVM or 2203KK. My budget is only good for a used JCM-800 or DSL. I think I going to try and get a cheap 2203 :)