Pointy guitars?

rsm

Back in the day, I had several pointy guitars (and basses) mostly BC Rich and Ibanez as I recall. I have a BC Rich Stealth Chuck Schuldiner sig, and have been looking for another pointy guitar.

I was considering a new Ibanez Xiphos, this one:

ibanez%2BXPIR20E_iron%2Blabel.png

But the Xiphos is similar in style to the Stealth shape-wise, and I don't have any Vs, and I've been GASing for a BC Rich US Draco in dragonblood for a few years, but I found (and purchased) an all black one (Korean made) used for a decent price, looks like this:

bc-rich-v-draco-gbc-dv-o-lg.jpg

I'm not familiar with Rockfield pickups, but I'll see how the stock pickups work. If not, I'm thinking a DiMarzio X2N in the bridge, and Fast Track 2 in the neck. :)

Anyone else still using or GASing for very pointy guitars? :yes:

:thumbsup:

I dig the xiphos, but not a big trem user these days, my old Steinberger had a transtrem back in the day, I only have one guitar with trem system now. I really like the satin black finish and the no fret marker ebony board, when I considered a new Kiesel 6 I was going for the no streak ebony without fret markers (did not purchase). The Draco has that fretboard so it scratches that itch for me.

The draco is just over-the-top pointy, like a caricature of a pointy guitar, so uncool that it just works for me in the looks department...if that makes any sense! like, go big or go home pointy IMO :LOL: :LOL:

Hadn't owned a pointy in years until a few weeks ago, when I grabbed a Charvel pointy reissue. 700 bucks for a custom shop quality guitar..I don't care what headstock it has!

I have 5 pointy's. 3 rhoads style V's, a jackson star that I have given the chris holmes treatment and one I made that is kinda similar to that ibanez (but a bit rounder)

only the holmes gets any play time really, although when I jam I always use a V generally .... at home I always play strats/super strats