Any users of the E 530 pre?

rsm

How are the cleans and crunch/lower-gain/hard-rock/old metal tones on this? Any links or clips that show these? (I'm not concerned about the high-gain as I'm sure that works fine).

What are you using to switch channels?

I've owned many Engl amps (including E530) and have never been a fan of the crunch channels
They sound like the lead channels with less gain, with the same type of modern voicing.

rsm":1nyfbu2x said:
new E 530 ordered. should ship tomorrow. :yes:
You probably could of gotten one used. They are for sale all the time if you check around, a lot of times barely used. Good luck though, hope you like it! I have no experience with it, but would love to get a 580.

thanks. I had a coupon, got it almost matched, so saved some money on new plus free shipping, peace of mind,... price difference was worth it IMO.

First, second impressions...so far

I received my new E530 this past Monday; unfortunately, I was out of town until late Tuesday night. I set up the rack Tuesday night, but didn't get to play it until last night. Spent time checking all the control ranges and the different option button combinations...so far so good.

Today, I set all the controls at noon to get a neutral starting point and ran through all the switch/mode combinations. I used my BC Rich Stealth - Schuldiner tribute, the recording outs of the E530 direct to my Bose L1 Model II set to utility flat (FRFR)...

All controls at noon, various switch/mode combinations:

I can get great clean, bite/crunch to 70s hard rock tones from the clean channel, I like the bright button on. From the lead channel I get two levels of distortion/hi gain (one with the gain button set to low, another with the gain button set to hi) then the contour on/off.