Anyone want to talk about DSL's?

shred-o-holic

I was surprised to find that I dug one today at GC with a boost. I talked about it in my other thread but no one cares. Anybody use one for heavy stuff? With a boost of course..

I played a few at GC years ago and liked them, especially with a greenback loaded cab. Didn't play any heavy stuff or use a boost though. I didn't like the TSL's.

I have had many over the years and always liked 'em especially with a boost. They get slagged on only because they are so common IMO...

I've had one for a few weeks now. I really like it for hard-rock/metal stuff. Haven't tried boosting it yet though. One of these days...

I've been playing a voodoo modded one for about 2 years now. I tried a ts9 through it for a while and I think it brought it close to a metal territory.

I've had mine for almost 2 years never had a problem with it
I did however replace all of the tubes and it really made it shine,havent tried a boost yet but maybe I will one day.
great tones if you just tweak the gain and volume controls

2 minutes ago some kid's mom showed up at my house and bought her son my DSL50.

I'd have loved to keep it (it would be cool to ALWAYS have a Marshall) but other purchases necessitated its sale.

I'm interested in the new line of Marshalls...we'll see how those go.

>|<>QBB<
PeteLaramee":df716 said:
I've been playing a voodoo modded one for about 2 years now. I tried a ts9 through it for a while and I think it brought it close to a metal territory.

Close to Metal territory? I haven't played a Voodoo modded DSL but the stock one I played boosted with my TS-808 clone Jeckyll/Hyde Pedal was very metal. I wonder what some people's perception of a metal sound is sometimes. Maybe some oversaturated crap or something? The amp had alot of gain with a boost......clearer gain....actually some hair with the presence up....but I tuned that out as I need clarity....but it was Metal for days......I wouldn't have liked it if it wasn't...