Movement Conservation and Tension and Technique to overcome?

ThrowBackMan

I've been playing for many years on and off, mostly off. I'm now 53. I've played in bands, but they've always been bluesy rock bands or 80's type stuff, and it was just a few times when needed, but I love playing. :rock:

My problem is I can't seem to relax the right muscles to get enough speed to build up and I can't seem to get enough conservation of movement. Now, especially I'm told by my doctor that I have some arthritis, and this sucks. :cry:

I mean, I have the dexterity to move my hands around and chord about anywhere I want and play lead, but not fast enough it seems. I'm able to play all types of say Pink Floyd type licks and maybe even Ted Nugent and Aerosmith type licks, but I can't seem to get the Paul Gilbert or Gus G stuff, especially the latter. I was watching him and man he can play fast and with what looks like little effort? :confused:

Any help would be appreciated and especially if you can point me to some websites or videos.. I'll take any help I can get though.. I'm disciplined enough to practice, but I don't want to practice the wrong things. :D

Regards
Lee

A metronome is your friend. Start v e r y slow and then gradually speed it up a little at a time as you're able to play licks clean at faster tempos. It's not that someone like Paul can play faster than most people. Most people can eventually reach those speeds. It's just that he plays at those insane speeds so freakin' clean that you can hear each note pop out instead of it being a blurry mess. Get his Intense Rock 1 video somewhere and learn those licks. You can do it if you spend enough time with it!

Hey Richard.