RIvera Silent Sister iso cab is here (VH4 content)

Hi fellas,

I just got a the new Rivera Silent Sister isocab.

http://www.rivera.com/products/silentsi ... sister.php

I’ve been using a Randall “Isolation” isocab for the past 5 years, and have gotten great use from it. However, it has taken some work to milk the kick-assery out of it.

Over the years I’ve the Randall with 3ch Dual Recto, 60’s Fender Bassman head, Marshall JCM800, VHT Deliverance, Diezel VH4.

http://www.randallamplifiers.com/Cabine ... ation.html

So I’ll try to give a brief review, and some clips:

RANDAL ISOLATION:

First of all, I bought the Randall Isolation second-hand. It has the name, “SHAW” painted in stencil on the top, so who knows where it’s been before I got it. The Randall uses a single V30 and has one mic holder. The mic arm is a nice length and you can get an SM57 pretty much anywhere you want. But beware, twice in it’s life, I’ve accidentally dropped the 57 and it fell directly into the speaker cone. Light masking tape works for pulling out an inverted speaker bubble.

There is no acoustic material in the cavity behind the speaker, just an empty box. This caused problems. It would resonate on certain notes, and also sounded hollow to mics.
I’ve added some acoustic foam into the cavity and found a nice balance. Too much and it ate all the bottom end, too little and it was really boomy. Also the lid is essentially the entire top half of the cabinet, so sometimes it’s a pain to open up. But once I get the mic where I wanted it, I’d go months without opening it up.