The best combo amp for metal (smaller gigs obviously)

nightlight

With everyone playing in smaller and smaller bars these days, and often without backline support, I was wondering what you guys thought was the best combo amp for metal in these types of gigs.

I have limited experience, but my vote goes to the PRS Archon 25-watt combo. I used to own the 50-watt combo and this thing used to slay it, and was just a bit lower in volume.

For the record, I've tried the Victory Kraken, the PRS MT-15 and the Mesa Boogie Mark V:25. This thing is leagues ahead of them, imho.

I just got the Archon 50 v2 50 watt combo.
Honestly, the thing is so good, I wouldn't be lacking much if it were my only amp.
The combo sounds near as good as plugged into a Bogner OS2x12. The gain channel has plenty of gain, but isn't mushy. The clean channel is nice, takes pedals well for crunchy sounds. It's def worth the $ to have as a grab n go that you don't have to worry about getting messed up.
The only think I don't like about it, it's noisy. I have some static noises all the time, and a bit of hum with effects in the loop. Kind of a bummer, but can't complain for the $900 I spent.

Favorite I've played is the (cheap) Peavey 6505+ 1x12 60W sealed combo. You can pick them up for around $500 and it's the only combo I've played that's legit for high gain sounds. (Given that you may want to swap out the Sheffield with a better speaker..)

Favorite I've played is the (cheap) Peavey 6505+ 1x12 60W sealed combo. You can pick them up for around $500 and it's the only combo I've played that's legit for high gain sounds. (Given that you may want to swap out the Sheffield with a better speaker..)
I think the closed back was a substantial part of why those sounded so good. I wish more high gain combos had that as an option.