Want to start playing bass - Looking for recommendations for a bass and amp/cab rig

Econ

I’ve been playing guitar for over 40 years and just recently started to get interested in playing bass. My choice of music when playing guitar is 80’s hard rock, hair metal, progressive rock and top 40 music. But when thinking about bass, I’d like to concentrate more into top 40 music. I‘m looking for recommendations for a bass and an amp/cab rig. This would be for home playing. Looking for something practical but also something that I would no overgrow. Don’t know of I should go for a P bass or a J bass. My hands are small, so also don’t know if a should consider a short scale bass or even a tiny bass. There are no music stores close to were I live. So I need to rely on research and recommendations from fellow musicians.

Your feedback is much appreaciated.

I’ve been playing guitar for over 40 years and just recently started to get interested in playing bass. My choice of music when playing guitar is 80’s hard rock, hair metal, progressive rock and top 40 music. But when thinking about bass, I’d like to concentrate more into top 40 music. I‘m looking for recommendations for a bass and an amp/cab rig. This would be for home playing. Looking for something practical but also something that I would no overgrow. Don’t know of I should go for a P bass or a J bass. My hands are small, so also don’t know if a should consider a short scale bass or even a tiny bass. There are no music stores close to were I live. So I need to rely on research and recommendations from fellow musicians.

Your feedback is much appreaciated.
Fender and a lot of other companies make great PJ basses that would be the best of both worlds and more versatile than one or the other. Personally I wouldn’t go for a short scale due to the difference in tone. Even with small hands you’ll learn your way around the fretboard.