Owning/carrying a collapsible baton is illegal in some states. WTF?

• Thread starter Thread starter MadAsAHatter
  • Start date Start date
MadAsAHatter
MadAsAHatter
My wife and I started riding our bikes around the neighborhood for exercise, but because of our schedules we're doing it around 2am. Given the time I figured it'd be a good idea for us to carry those collapsible batons on our bikes. Not that our neighborhood isn't safe, but it's 2am and stupid shit and people can randomly happen.

So starting to look at which ones are good to get and something to secure it on the bike but in easy reach I stumbled across a forum where someone was asking basically the same thing. The first 10 responses were check your laws that's illegal in some places. I'm thinking to myself WTF, you can't carry a stick?

Sure enough I looked it up and it's illegal to carry any type of baton in a couple of states and completely illegal to own one in California. I'm happy to live in a state where I don't have to worry about that bullshit.

1685026101204.png

There are sticks all over the place in MA, why carry one with you? I remember growing up hearing that you aren’t supposed to keep a baseball bat in your vehicle unless it’s for baseball use but I doubt there is much of a way to prove anything.

Personally I like living somewhere that discourages recreational weaponry

There are sticks all over the place in MA, why carry one with you? I remember growing up hearing that you aren’t supposed to keep a baseball bat in your vehicle unless it’s for baseball use but I doubt there is much of a way to prove anything.

What’s recreational weaponry?

What’s recreational weaponry?
Non regulated I guess. There is a process to go through for a gun. There isn’t a process that I know of for a baton.