Your take on Vox vs. Cry baby wahs?

• Thread starter Thread starter Speeddemon
  • Start date Start date
Speeddemon
Speeddemon
So, a little back story; when I started playing guitar (age 13) Jimi was one of my heroes and I wanted a wah pedal because of that.
I got a Vox V847 wah at the time and it rocked. No PSU jack, just battery use only. Some buddies had Cry Baby wahs and I never played those at the time. I remember some more seasoned guys saying they prefer the tone of the Vox.

At some point early 2000's, I got a Teese RMC3, hoping it would provide me with a physical longer throw of the foot-rocker. It was nice, but due to the hype around it, I was hoping for me. Got myself a Colorsound wah from the 70's, now *THAT'S* what I'm talkin' 'bout, whenever I wanted to play some Blaxploitation style stuff. But it did suffer from a slight volume drop. Soundwise and throw-wise, it was the best. Sold the Vox, sold the RMC, got a DOD FX17 (wah/volume), sold that, got a Tech21 Killer Wail, which I still use to this day, after replacing the pot with a Fulltone a year or so ago...
Long story short, I have reasonable wah-experience, just not with a Crybaby.

A buddy of mine is starting out with guitar and he's looking for the same stuff I did, when I started out, and he's contemplating a used Vox or Crybaby. So far I've seen that the Crybabys are cheaper than the (made in USA) Voxes. They make 'em in China now too, and those are cheaper.
Whatever he's getting, I can make it true bypass for him and probably mod it too, but what's your take on Vox vs. Crybaby, both for clean and (heavily) distorted tones?

He's on a budget, so please no Morley/Teese/Fulltone recommendations! Either Vox or Crybaby (incl. the 535Q and Mini versions). Are the Mini's just as good to use, or does it feel off, because the pedal is soo much smaller?