Vintage TS9 and TS808 vs. Modern Variants

glpg80

Talk to me about which direction to go for pedals? Better to go the vintage route with certain chips or is it better to go with modern takes of them and if so, which ones? I’ve heard a lot about the Maxon 808. What’s your opinion?

For the record I’m not a pedal pro and all I’ve got is a basic run of the mill SD-1. I want to grab some rock solid staples to have on hand.

Talk to me about which direction to go for pedals? Better to go the vintage route with certain chips or is it better to go with modern takes of them and if so, which ones? I’ve heard a lot about the Maxon 808. What’s your opinion?

For the record I’m not a pedal pro and all I’ve got is a basic run of the mill SD-1. I want to grab some rock solid staples to have on hand.
Most of them are more similar than they are different. The Maxon OD808 is a good industry standard.

Beyond that, it depends on how much you want to tweak. Do you want to adjust the bass, or clipping types, or etc... ? The Green Rhino and Precision Drive are probably a couple of my favorites for tweaking.

It depends on what you're going for.

As far as modern variants, my go to TS variants are as follows:

1. For versatility, there is no boost that even gets close to the KSR Eros. It has a TS mode, a clean boost mode, and a distortion mode, with full BMT tone stack, as well as a three way low end switch that's VERY useful.

2. For simplicity/ease of use and value, the voodoo labs sparkle drive is the absolute bees knees. The clean blend is so useful, and you can get them for stupidly cheap.

Most of the expensive variants of the TS circuit are snake oil IMO - i've owned everything from the fortin mod stuff to a bunch of other boutique models, and for whatever reason, they all sound almost exactly like a stock modern maxon/ibanez.

The vintage ones do have a certain flavor, but IMO the tone to price ratio is off.